NEGLECT? NO!

My dear blog readers, no, I have not been neglecting you! This last week has been very busy in preperation for our performance last night. So apart from my usual work, I have started teaching Indian dancing here as I mentioned a while back. Well, last night it all came together and we performed in front of a crowd of a couple of hundred people. My gorgeous Kiri-Indian dancers looked stunning and performed just as well :). We’ve started the bollywood dance craze in Kiribati!i I’ve lost all the fat I’d accummulated and gained muscle stregth that I lost during the two love affair episodes I had with mosquitoes. My dancers too are looking fitter and flowy with all the funky dance moves :). Last night, they were all dressed up in traditional Indian clothing with makeup and jewellery to match. It was super cool! I am trying to get a hold of photos and videos… Will post once I get them πŸ™‚

Until then…imagine me along with 10 stunning i-Kiribati girls, 7 amazing I-Kiribati boys (well known local dancers) wearing colourful dhottis (held together with numerous safety pins πŸ˜‰ ), 2 very cute Japanese girls, 1 gorgeous Taiwanese girl, a young, tall Aussie chick with a mesmerising smile (about a decade younger than me but she very seriously says “it’s just 9 years”. He he he. I like πŸ™‚ ) all dressed in Indian looking clothes, bindis, Indian hairstlyes and head pieces dancing to the beats and rhythm of popular Indian songs! To top it off, the improvising MC was also an Indian! Kiribati hadn’t seen such a sight before. He he he. Amazing what you find so far away from home. It reminds me of the time I was travelling through Kumamoto in Japan (far south) with my good friend Bee. While walking around looking for food, we acciddntally stumbled accross an Indian restaurant (rather unbelievable find) with the most amazing food I have ever had and the best espresso chai ever! I hadn’t seen another Indian in my time there, yet that food and chai was so amazing that I will never be able to forget it. I digress. The point is…well, there isn’t any actually apart from the fact that I am super proud of my dancers! All that practice and dedication paid off :D. Now, we’ll be geting ready for the next performances we’ve been asked to do! Only painful part is that I’ve gotta wash the sweaty costumes….mummmmmmaaaaaaaa…..help!!! He he he he

Leave a Reply

