ONE WEEK

One week till I leave Christchurch, the city I have come to love and embark on a long road trip to Auckland. Today, I walked the Taylors mistake to Goddley heads track with Capt Scarlet (nicknamed by me) and his wife (who has an awesome sense of humor). We ended the walk with a lovely hot chocolate! It was the first track I did when I moved to Christchurch last year and it will be the last. It is rather nice to be able to close off the loop but it feels as though my connection with Christchurch isn’t over! I wonder where I will end up on my return from Kiribati.

I have been asked a few times if I am worried about going… To be honest, it just feels right. It really does feel like it is the right time for this and if not now then when? I wonder if this is what it feels like when you just know. It is an unfamiliar feeling to me but I’m rather liking it 🙂

On that note, I am no longer alone at home with the cat! J and Tasha are back and it is lovely to have them back!

2 thoughts on “ONE WEEK

  1. Hi Shifani

    I was where you are now about 20 years ago. I arrived in Tarawa as a volunteer in March 1995. I felt so much at home that Kiribati became (and still is) my home. I’m doing some work in PNG at the moment, so I won’t be there to welcome you, but if you’ve got any questions in the meantime let me know, and I’ll do my best to answer them. If you would like, I can put you in touch with some planners who have gone before you (both Aussies). Go in with an open mind and you’ll have the time of your life.

    Tekeraoi!

    David

    Like

  2. Hi David,

    Thanks you very much for contacting me! Be great to be put in touch with planners who have done similar work before. Thanks for your offer to answer my questions 🙂 I am sure I will have some as I get closer to leaving. You’ve given me a great tip and that is what I am hoping to do- go in with an open mind!

    Thank a lot 🙂
    Shifani

    Like

Leave a Reply

